• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can Somebody expand the Acronymns?

I constantly see Allah(swt).
    What does swt stand for?
    I know PBUH !!!
    ALso I observed devout Muslims on this board have a way of dropping these acronymns left and RIght.
    I find it difficult to follow, especially the Arabic Ones.

Can somebody give me a list?
    You know I thought PBUH was some kind of Diploma at first!!

Andha

let me enlighten you

swt - Subhanahu Wa 'ta Ala

which is said after you mention Allah.

Im not an expert, and perhaps others can can elaborate, but it means the praise-worthy, and the most exaulted/high.

Comment

As with most things related to technology (text-messaging etc) you will find alot of commonly used words and phrases will be abbreviated, and as Muslims often praise the creator and invoke the blessings of ALLAH SWT upon his noble PROPHET PBUH, you will come across alot of acronyms, especially in this forum.

PBUH is the highest diploma, the highest achievment bestowed upon one man out of every human being that has ever came, is or will be. So I guess you guessed right Andha!

If you come across any that confuse you, please feel free to ask!

MAGUOBYB! Ameen!

[This message has been edited by Alpha1 (edited May 10, 2002).]

Comment

Yes, when I talk about Krishna, I usually say Hazrat Krishan (as)

Confused?
        I know that you believe that you understood what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
        - Robert McCloskey

Comment

Oh sorry for butting in, I didn’t know that the only people whose names begin with “A” are invited in this discussion.

I am really very sorry. Please don’t be mad at me. PBUY and GTH

Comment

Originally posted by NYAhmadi:
            GTH
            Whatever Allah Wills

Comment

NYAhmadi bhiajan, your name is not too different either. So stop whining.