Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

how to pray namaaz

assalamu alaikum,
    i am new to this so please apologies for my ignorance..
    iam slowly embracing islam and unfortunately am struggling to find any books on performing salaat..the books i have found all appear to be aimed at people who already have knowledge on salaat. something explaining in laymans terms for beginners ie what dua to read and the differenec between fard, sunnat and witr and what to read in each..i would be grateful if there are any links to websites or any other help.

Salam
    Welcome to islam, I wish ur embracing islam will give u a positive change in life

Fard is obligatory. Sunnah is what the prophet (pbuh) performed, but is not neccesarily obligaotory. Witr is the conluding prayer of the day.

Thats very short definition, and I will find some good websites and put it up to you.

May Allah bless you

------------------
    -------------------------
    "Which is it, of the favours of your Lord, that ye deny?"

Comment

Walaikum Assalaam. There are several helpful websites regarding the correct manner of performing prayers. It may seem confusing at first, but just remember - everyone struggles to perfect her/his prayers, no one is born an expert at this.

Following is a list of some websites:
      http://www.geocities.com/teachmesalaat [has an illustrated beginner's guide for salaat] http://convertstoislam.org [provides some free literature regarding Islam] http://members.aol.com/MuttaqunOL/salah.html [step-by-step instructions regarding how to perform salaat] http://www.ummah.org.uk/software/cyber [I haven't tried this myself yet, but this website has 'Cyber Salaat' - a free multimedia program that teaches how to perform salaat; let me know if you try it and it doesn't seem to work on your computer]