Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Haram ingredients to avoid

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Haram ingredients to avoid

    A Partial list of Haram ingredients that can be mixed with food manufactured by Non-Muslims and some Muslims in ignorance.

    Bacon - A side of a pig meant (pork) after removal of the spare ribs and after being cured dry or pickled and smoked.

    Cholesterol - A type of fat always of animal origin, it should be suspected till the source is known, If extracted from Zabiha animal, it is halal, if not it becomes haram.

    Diglyceride - Emulsifier , if of animal origin it should be suspected till the animal source is known and if of plant origin, it is automatically halal

    Gelatin ( Jello Gelatine) - Usually of animal origin, mostly from hog (pig) if gelatin sources are from plants than it is halal. A Malaysian company is now producing Halal gelatin. check out their website at Halalgel.com

    Glycerol ( Glycerine) , Glyceryl -Stearate - It could be of animal , plant or synthetic origin, if animal source is used it is haram.

    Hormones - Usually animal hormones are used for human beings. One has to find the source before passing judgment.

    Lard - Fat from the swine, particularly found in the abdominal cavity. This is totally haram for Muslims.

    Mono Glycerides - if of animal origin, one has to suspect its use.

    Pepsin - A digestive enzyme of the gastric juices usually extracted from hog's stomach. Usually not labeled.

    Rennin ( Rennet) - A protein enzyme used in the preparation of cheeses for curdling the milk. Usually not labeled .

    Shortening : Animal Shortening - Fats and oils of animal origin

    Lard Shortening - A purified internal fat from the abdomen of the hog.

    Vegetable shortening - Fats and oils of plant origin. As long as the word "pure" or 100% is not used with vegetable shortening, there is no guarantee that animal fats are added to the extent of 5-15%.


    There are various type of food additives in all sort of products we bought in the market today. The following is a guideline of known haram additives.

    * This list is not exhaustive

    E120 Cochineal fatty acids and egg yolks of dried female insects, Actiipus coccus and 10% of carminic acid.

    E 140 Fatty acids and phosphates

    E 141 Fatty acids

    E 160 (a) Natural pigments used for yellow colouring added to some foods as vitamin supplement. This may contain some other pigments such as oils, fats and waxes. One has to find out the source whether animal or synthetic.

    E 252 Waste animals and vegetable material.

    E 422 Fatty acids by-products in the manufacture of soaps

    E 430 Fatty acids molecules

    E 431 Fatty acids

    E 440 Gelatine

    E 470 Sodium, potassium, calcium salts of fatty acids

    E 471 Glycerine and fatty acids (Note : when glycerol is used one has to find out the source whether animal or synthetic)

    E 472 (a) Acetic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

    E 472 (b) Lactic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

    E 472 (c) Citric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

    E 472 (d) Tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids

    E 473 Sucrose esters of fatty acids

    E 474 Sycroglycerides prepared by reaction of sucrose on natural triglycerides such as lard, tallow, palm oil etc.

    E 475 Polyglycerol esteres of fatty acids - prepared in the laboratory

    E 477 Propane 1,2-diol esters of fatty acids or propylene glycol esters of fatty acids

    E 478 Lactylated fatty acid esters of glycerol and propane 1,2-diol

    E 482 Calcium stearoy 1,2-lactylate

    E 483 Stearyl tartarate

    E 491 Sorbitan monostearate

    E 492 Sorbitan tristearate (span 85)

    E 494 Sorbitan monostearate (span 80)

    E 422 (e)

    E456

    The following without 'E' prefixes are also HARAM

    476 Polyglycerol esters of polycondensed acids of esters oil

    542 Edible bone phosphate

    631 Insine (disodium phosphate, sodium and iosinate)

    570 Steeric acid

    572 Magnesium stearate

    635 Disodium guanilate and disodium iosinate

    904 Shellac - a substance obtained from the resin produced by the LAC insect


    #2
    Re: Haram ingredients to avoid

    wow !!!

    Comment


      #3
      Re: Haram ingredients to avoid

      This is a gud list... u must have researched alot on it.. .

      Comment


        #4
        Re: Haram ingredients to avoid

        Good definition of "Cholesterol" though. It helps to check wikipedia and understand what cholesterol really is. In your zeal, I think it is essential that we do not forget the basic definitions.

        Comment


          #5
          Re: Haram ingredients to avoid

          Jazak Allahu Khair

          Comment


            #6
            Re: Haram ingredients to avoid

            Do you guys even read the post carefully before you go ga-ga on the post.

            Comment

            Working...
            X