Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Pakistani patriotism is motivated only by hatred of India, not genuine love!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

My title summarizes my opinion! Any sensible comment?

From DAWN:

Pakistani students in the US

I AM an undergraduate student at a university in the USA, and it is impossible to ignore the differences between the way in which Pakistani and Indian students represent their respective countries. Even though the Pakistani student community here is smaller than the Indian student body, no one seems to make the effort to visually represent Pakistan.

The South Asian Students' Association on the campus is composed entirely of Indian officer-bearers not because there is any sort of discrimination against us, but because no Pakistani wants to take out the time to run for that position. The annual International Festival, which is one of the best ways that people can represent their countries, is coming up in April. Almost all the Indian students on the campus have willingly offered to help represent India in any way they can. There are more than enough Indian students lending traditional Indian items for display and offering to man their display table and there are plenty of Indian students willing to wear their Indian outfits for the International Fashion Show.

Indian students run for position on the various student councils and for positions in various student organisations. They know that creating the right "image" is all about creating the right impression in the public eye and they are willing to work at it. They care.