• Time
  • Show
Clear All

Constraints of religion

Religions do not have the capacity nor
    intellectual depth to solve many of the
    real world problems.

It is simply a tool to discipline individuals
    living in groups(family,tribes,cities..)
    so as create harmony and socail order.

Thinking Islam or for that matter any other
    religion can solve Pakistan's complex
    social and economic problems is very naive.

why don't you give us a real life scenario?

solving pakistan problem through religion?
    lets see. religion teaches us honesty, respect, love and care for others. Tells us to get EDUCATED. with the literacy rate around 30% (official figures. kinda high if you askme), exploding population

if you think about it, islam suggests limiting the family size if the parents don't have the means to provide for their parents (maily education).
    (i'm not good with references,so maybe someone can back me on this)

Comment

They are solving Afghanistan's problem with its religion (using honesty, friendship et al) and are very successful.

Comment

Originally posted by kumarakn:
        They are solving Afghanistan's problem with its religion (using honesty, friendship et al) and are very successful.
        Well, what about Saudi Arabia.. Know of
        any other country with lesser crime, murder,
        or Aids rates..
        If you think afghanistan taleban movement
        is so insuccessful, how did they get control
        of over 90% of area? Only foriegn madia is
        crying over islamic law in afghanistan, I've
        met many afghnis, and they've no problems
        with it. If you search BBC for Shariaa Law
        in some parts of Nigeria, you will find that
        these areas are now more peaceful and better
        then before.

Islam is a COMPLETE WAY of life. and can
        solve ALL the problems for a society if
        FOLLOWED correctly.

[This message has been edited by PureLand (edited February 16, 2001).]