Marathon of an Ahmadi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Marathon of an Ahmadi

In light of the current topics in politics about religious hatred and Ahmadis, and the NYC Marathon this Sunday (in which I am running, it will be my second), I thought to share this with my friends.

I was only a 7th grade student in Multan, Pakistan when the Ahmadi riots started. The trouble began when a group of med students (form Nisthar Medical College, Multan) started teasing Ahmadi women at the train station in Rabwah (Ahmadi town in Punjab) en route to Swat for summer holidays. These students were beaten by Ahmadi men. The news spread, and the entire province of Punjab got engulfed in riots. Countless Ahmadis died, and the Bhutto government declared Ahmadis as non-Muslims under protests and demonstrations by the Mullahs (his justification, to save Ahmadis from massacre). Since Multan was the epicenter of the riots, it gotten very bad there. I was a student in a Missionary school (admitted there for no fee since my parents couldn’t afford any). But even that free education seemed very expensive to them as the cost of just being there meant a lot of money for my poor parents. I stayed in a dorm (4 to a room). Late at night, I heard noises coming down the hallway, “let’s kill him, he is an Ahmadi”. My buddies in the room asked to leave right away. I jumped out of the window from second story in my boxer shorts and ran like hell for 6 miles (being a track star saved my life) to a nearby factory colony where my relatives lived. I took refuge with them for a night and the next day my uncle took me to Lahore to be with my other relatives. I stayed with them until I finished my high school. My parents lived in another town in Punjab, where my Dad worked in a factory. I enrolled in a local school and although I had gotten fed up with education, my parents convinced me to continue. I passed my high school with good results, and got admitted to one of the finest institutions