Poor me!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Poor me!

Okie... as most of you know that I am doing a double major in Engineering and Applied Science.

The ApplSci part is Computer Science and will finish at the end of this year.

Now I have to take electives. As I am in double Major and the course is already too long we are given an option to do electives in our field, which will count in credits towards the degree. But all my supervisers keep telling me that this isnt a good idea and there should be a little diversity and stuff.

I am thinking of going middle way by taking courses in the Business faculty (in their Info Sys dept). The best I can see is called Introduction to Enterprise Resource Planning(ERP) Systems. This includes a project with SAP R/3 (50% weight, could be an industry placement even) and everyone is really excited about it.

Now I am a hardcore engineer/Computer dude. Never touched business stuff. I am doing a management/e-com system for a small company these days but they tell me what they want and I design the system, code the software and databases. While they are happy cuz it surves the perpose and I work cheap, I doubt if its anywhere near what it should be.

So what should I do? Take the ERP Systems course when I dont even know what that is (hopefully they'll tell me). Or go back to same old computer stuff. My supervisor says that I should do it cuz when I get my CS degree with part of engineering still remaining, this will help me securing a good parttime job etc.

But them how much can they teach in a starting level course. Still learning depends on the person not on the course. Doesnt it?

Who-*confused*-me

PS. Please dont say that I have answered my questions. If I have, point them out. And I know there are a lot of ERP ppl here so do take time to respond please (Earlier the better)

------------------
    ICBM Target Coords: 27.500S, 153.017E

[This message has been edited by who---me (edited July 23, 2001).]