Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Choosing an MBA Minor & a Research Topic for PhD

Hey all...
    I'm startin my MBA this fall inshaAllah.
    My major will be E-Commerce & Information Systems.

Firstly, in addition to the specialization, I'm opting for a minor as well, and am wondering about the best fit to my major.
    Although I got quite a few choices, I've narrowed it down to these:

-> Marketing
    -> International Business
    -> Operations Management

just needed some advice on someone who's already out there workin in a similar position. Currently, I work as an E-Business & Internet Services Project Coordinator, doing mainly consulting work for SMEs' who're deploying back-end internet infrastructures. I have a strong technical portfolio and the MBA will hopefully give me a broader perspective to management as such.

Finally, I am getting quite a few exemptions in the program because of my professional qualifications and I'm going to take up Special Topics Research courses during the years of my MBA. This will hopefully evolve into a PhD thesis where I plan to pursue Information Systems as the area of concentration. If anyone has any suggestions in this regard, please send them my way.

Ciao,
    Umar.

For reason, ruling alone, is a force confining - and passion, unattended, is a flame that burns to its own destruction - Khalil Gibran

Umar International Business is good if you are more into the strategy type mode.

if you have an interest in customers, business relationships etc marketing may be a good one.

I think that a technology oriented background goes well with operations since when you get into teh nitty gritty of technology it has huge operational implications, espcially in the area of packaged solutions.