Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

More on bad habits at the workplace

Salaamz All,

I am a recent Mechanical Engineering Graduate from London UK.

During my Industrial Placement, I noticed among a few of my desi and non-desi muslim co-workers, that they regard most of the people around them as ignorant or to add the colorful term 'Ignorant Kuffar'.
    Often during lunch we would share a table with some English guys. We made it a point not to talk shop over lunch, and often one of the Goras would express some interest in some aspect of Islam or of Desi culture. I noticed I was the only one attempting to explain anything, and building a bridge of understanding (sort of).

Whenever these 'Kuffar' left the table and we were left in 'Muslim only' company the good Muslims would start bad mouthing these guys ... how they are ignorant, and the only reason they ask these questions is to make us feel different, and how their minds are being controlled by the media image of Muslims, and how they are all enemies and cant be friends, etc etc. etc.

The result was I made more friends among the 'non-muslim' work force, and eventually stopped sitting with the other guys, coz I couldn't stand their 'stereotyping' of all non-muslims.

My table always had a full compliment, no empty chairs. We had the most amazing discussions on many topics , relating to Muslims in the UK, Muslims globally, the Iraq crises, Libya, Iran, perception of the west among muslims and so on.

I made more contacts not only among the company workers, but contractors and visitors who might drop by at lunch time. The only negative point being, I could never finish lunch coz I was almost always talking.

Long story short, to me there seems to be this trend in the muslim workforce here in the UK, especially among the 'practicing Muslims' of looking down on everyone around them.

Isn't this something that should be discouraged ?