Exercise/Weights and etc...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Exercise/Weights and etc...

I could not find the appropriate section to post this in so apologies in advance. I would like to share my experiences in bodybuilding and weight training with other desis. Hopefully it can help these desis who struggle to put on weight despite months of training. Please note that I am not a professional or expert and all the following is from my own personal experiences.

As you know desis do not have the best genetics in the world- we have a small bone structure and thin builds compared to americans, germans and australians. Our typical build is narrow shoulders, thin forearms and thin legs with a very bad tendency to gain a pot belly without even trying too hard. But to say desis are born to be small is going too far...

Muscle gain is hard - not impossible but hard - even harder when u are not blessed genetically. The two most important things for muscle gain are

1) the total calories you consume
    2) the amount of weight you are lifting

Both of these factors are important but unlike most people might believe I think 2) is more important.. it certainly has been in my case. In our society too much empahsis is placed on eating right - the right calories, the right macronutrients and so on... eating is easy - measuring calories is not much pain - you just have to sit on your behind and eat - the exercise part is harder.

The quantity of weight is perhaps the only factor which will put muscle on you. You MUST push yourself - lifting a new higher range of weights everytime you do weight training. This is essential I believe more than anything else. Say you benched 150 lbs in the last week - try to bench 155 lbs - even if it is one rep or a half/partial rep. I have seen to many guys just lifting the same weight months after months - no wonder they dont look any different.