What goes in Salan????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What goes in Salan????

So I've always believed and cooked salan with onion.. just onion and of course meat and whatever veggies you want to put in it. Recently my MIL told me that salan should always have tomatoes and yogurt. I've never heard of that. Salan like bhindi gosht, aloo gosht etc. I thought required just onion mixture as opposed to Qorma that requires yogurt too. Something like chicken karhai would require tomatoes. I am a traditional cook. I put what's supposed to go in a dish and don't like to alter the recipe unless its one of my own creation. So do you guys cook "salan" with tomatoes and yogurt, and yeah I do know the difference between salan, qorma, karhai and all that.

Re: What goes in Salan????

I don't always add yogurt, unless it's a qorma or shorba (if shorba, a little bit of yogurt..I don't like water-salans) but for majority of salans, its onion, tomatoes..depending on the texture I want, the ratio of each changes..
    The grass ain't always greener on the other side, it's green where you water it.

Comment

Originally posted by Sara516 View Post
      I don't always add yogurt, unless it's a qorma or shorba (if shorba, a little bit of yogurt..I don't like water-salans) but for majority of salans, its onion, tomatoes..depending on the texture I want, the ratio of each changes..
      agreed with Sara516...yogurt only if it's a qorma type dish...95% of salans onions & tamatar, amount of each depending on the specific dish...

Comment

So okay tomatoes goes in salan??!! See I make my salan with gravy that has just onions and masala... anything with tomatoes and yogurt is automatically rich dish.. like qorma.. karhai

Comment