Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dowry, a necessity or an evil

Hello all:
    I have been thinking about this for while and could not decide what would be better to say about the status of dowry. I have talked to a few people about this and got the different views about dowry. A group of people (which includes a fair number of girls too) insisted that dowry is a right of the girl to get from the parents but on the other hand there are people who think that the dowry is an evil being practiced in our society. Both sides have number of evidences and examples to prove their views. I have very clear, specific and strong view about the dowry for myself which I can not insist to enforce on the others. That is why I decided to bring this topic to the forum and get the idea of the folks in here. Please be specific and talk only on the pros and cons of the dowry other than cursing the society.

------------------
    ****I am a jeweler, I set the significance of the jewels and throw the insignificant into the trash, these are my Quality Standards****

[This message has been edited by msaqibj (edited February 20, 1999).]

[This message has been edited by msaqibj (edited February 20, 1999).]

[This message has been edited by msaqibj (edited February 21, 1999).]

msaqibj,
    yaar itna mushkil nick , aur phir itnaa ghussa subha subha,!!
    restructuring of cultural evils is a necessasity now because of its extent.
    In our society where, average person is crushed under economical pressures anyway,and ingeneral possess little more than essential for life , taking a big chunk out to marry daughter is un acceptable...Its not the right of offspring , be it male or female , to get parents possesions...parents are obligated to bring you up with love, and educate you , but it stops there.
    I think when institutions degenerate to this point ,and are cause of this much grief , they have to be overhauled , sometimes a bit radically...