Elderly Parents

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Elderly Parents

Should we put our elderly parents who require daily monitoring due to illness, and Dementia in Retirement communties?

[This message has been edited by Rubiya Nur (edited July 30, 2000).]

Comment

Rubiya Jee Salam:

Thanks for the update. Yes, I read people response on Jack Handy post. Wow!! Since I run Nursing home facility this issue is very close to my heart. I am very sensative of both side of the issue. As a administrator I deal with this issue with everyday and believe me it has nothing to do with disrespect, dishonor, but comes down to what is the best option for everyone involve but most of all what is best for the prospective resident. Please do not confuse healthy smiling elders with those with who are unable to take care of themself, and have lost all abilities for ADL. Often we don't want to think about this issue cause it hurts and make us guilty. I invite you all to visit my facility in 1999 and see how we take care of our resident. Anyway thanks. Jack handy thank you for bringing this issue up front. I can use this information on my PHD.

Comment

'

[This message has been edited by Rubiya Nur (edited July 30, 2000).]

Comment

You need to try your level best to keep them at home. Always remember that your parents went out of their ways to make your life comfortable when you were younger, therefore, now its your turn to do the same or more for them. My motto is , where there is a will there is a way and if you really want to keep your parents at home, you will find a way.

Later on
          Zman

Comment

Dilwale jee

hey Iím an occupational therapist. I work in a large city hospital with geriatric population. We are always making discharge recommendations for patients who have been ill, speaking with families and doctors and this is a big issue.