No announcement yet.

Five uncapped players in Pakistan test squad

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    Five uncapped players in Pakistan test squad

    Pakistan have named five uncapped in their squad for the three- test series against Sri Lanka starting in Rawalpindi on Saturday.

    Younis Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Bazid Khan, Irfan Fazil and Imran Abbas were among the party of 18, continuing Pakistan's policy of drafting in newcomers which they opted for with their recent one-day squad.

    Inzamam-ul-Haq, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Akram, Waqar Younis and Wajahatullah Wasti have been recalled for the tests after being dropped for the limited overs series against Sri Lanka, who won 3-0.

    Former captain Aamir Sohail was also retained for the tests despite a below-par performance in the one-dayers against Sri Lanka.

    Fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar and all-rounder Azhar Mahmood were not considered because of injury, and there was no place for middle-order batsman Ijaz Ahmed, who stroked a century in Pakistan's last test, against Australia at Perth.

    "The team management has been provided with a pool of 18 players from which they will be entitled to pick players for the tests over the next three weeks," Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) cricket operations manager Ramiz Raja said from Lahore.

    The second test starts on March 5 in Peshawar and the third on March 12 in Karachi.

    Younis Khan is set to make his test debut at Rawalpindi after scoring 1,100 runs in the first-class season.

    Faisal Iqbal is the nephew of Pakistan's former captain Javed Miandad and Bazid Khan is the son of another Pakistan former captain, Majid Khan.

    Younis Khan, Iqbal and Imran Abbas played in the one-day series.

    Inzamam, who faced a barrage of criticism for his poor performance in the triangular one- day series in Australia last month, comes back after finishing as his country's second leading scorer in tests behind Saeed Anwar (673) in the 1999 calendar year. He scored 557 at 46.51.

    Squad: Saeed Anwar (captain), Wajahatullah Wasti, Naveed Qureshi, Shahid Afridi, Aamir Sohail, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Faisal Iqbal, Bazid Khan, Imran Abbas, Moin Khan, Abdur Razzaq, Wasim Akram, Waqar Younis, Mohammad Akram, Irfan Fazil, Saqlain Mushtaq.