Waqar Hits Out At 'Unfair' Wasim

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Waqar Hits Out At 'Unfair' Wasim

Star pace bowler Waqar Younis has lashed out at Pakistan captain Wasim Akram, claiming a personal grudge has kept him away from the game and ruined his career.
    Waqar says the grudge may date back to 1993, when he sided with a group of players who were opposed to having Wasim as their captain.

"Selectors kept on selecting me and he kept pushing me out," said Waqar. "He was unfair to me, to the fans and the game of cricket. I have been sitting on the bench for the last 18 months. Is it fair?"

Waqar added: "He is a great cricketer and I respect him as a cricketer but I cannot call him a great human being. If he has a grudge against me, the best place to settle that is inside a room and not at the ground."

Waqar and Wasim ruled the cricketing world during the 1990s when the pair destroyed batting orders with the prodigious reverse swing they achieved with the ball.

They thrilled British audiences with Waqar enjoying successful stints at Surrey and Glamorgan and Akram becoming a hero for Lancashire.

But Akram insists he has no grudge against Waqar, who took 279 wickets in 58 Test matches in an illustrious 10-year career.

"I have no personal grudge against him," Wasim said. "The question of whether injustice has been done to him or if he is being mistreated by me in the team can only be judged by looking at his performance in Tests and one-dayers in the last one year."

Waqar is a problem. He has been underperforming for a couple of years now and then he has a good test match and proceeds to use it to launch an attack on his captain. This type of player is very harmful for team spirit. The fact is he has performed very ordinairily for a long time. Shoaib was more successful, although he didn't do well in Australia.