• Show
Clear All

Pybus is good for Pakistani cricket

I clipped this article from http://www.gulf-news.com
    which has the best coverage of the
    Sharjah Champions Trophy.
    It is the only site I found with
    photographs from the matches.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A coach unburdened by training

By K.R. Nayar

Sharjah - The appointment of England-born Richard Pybus from South Africa as Pakistan's coach for the Australian tour has created a furore. When Pybus was appointed for the World Cup this year, Javed Miandad resigned as coach in protest. Now he replaces Wasim Raja under controversial circumstances.
    "There were reservations about appointing someone from outside Pakistan," said Pybus. "I don't look at people on the basis of their nationality. As a coach, I am not interested in the colour of their skin either. I treat them all as human beings.

"There is a lovely story about John Arlott, the cricket commentator. In South Africa while filling in the immigration papers he was asked what race he belonged to. 'The human race' he answered. I believe in the same philosophy."

Pakistani newspapers have quoted players as saying that during the World Cup Pybus upset them by moving around unclothed in the dressing room. "I had a great time with the boys during the World Cup. I have established a good relationship with them. I feel we respect one another," said Pybus.

It was held against Pybus that he is a fitness expert, not a cricket coach. Says Pybus: "You don't need to be trained to become a cricket coach. I don't believe in a piece of paper stating I am qualified. What is important is practical knowledge. I have the qualifications since I have been working in the South African system. I believe a good coach is as good as his communication."