The concept of being a "miraasi" in our culture

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

The concept of being a "miraasi" in our culture

I have always not understood why is being a musician been considered a bad profession in our culture.

I remember my grand parents being from old times whenever I showed interest in music discouraged me saying "yeh to Mirasiyon" ka kaam hay. First of all I still dont understand what is a Mirasi? Even in modern times

I am sad to say that one of my cousin's the other day when talking about the Late Ustad Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan and how much fame and respect he had in the west all of a sudden went " Jo bhee hay hay to woh mirasi thaa". If this is what our culture discourages Muscians I am sorry to say that I am not very proud to be a part of this culture.

i have the same prob..i'm a musician myself and i gtt the same remarkz from ppl bk in pakistan when i was there in 97...itz really sad to c how they treasure and respect other countriez artistz and musicianz and call them ARTISTZ, but when it comez to our own artistz, they are nothing but merely a "MERASI"....very sad indeed,,i don't understand on wht groundz they think that out artistz are merasi and otherz are artistz...

------------------
    Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti
    Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
    Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya
    Har Raggay HarJai Huu
    [Sultan Bahuu]
    **The Day She Left...**
    FriDaY_JaN_26Th_10:30:00_A.M...

Comment

Does this have to do with the influence of Islam in which 'Gana Bajana' is considered bad..?

Comment

Rani mind you this is not the religuous section and we are not discussing it under the light of Islam. Just how it is treated by our culture.

You on the other hand are totally unreasonable and I have noticed have to interfere in every single topic which deals with ridiculing Islam and Pakistan! Please refrain! As this is a Pakistani site!

Anyway back to the topic!

Comment